top of page

Malagueña & Concierto de Aranjuez (Adagio)

Malagueña y Verdiales (trad.). Performed by Manuel Cerpa.

The flamenco malagueña has its roots in the 18th century Spanish tirana & fandango bolero -- 2 popular dances of the era which were sung and danced in 3/4 time. The flamenco malagueña is simply a fandango from Malaga but without rhythm or tempo (i.e., ad libitum). This particular piece played by 16 year old Manuel Cerpa closes the malagueña with another flamenco style called the verdiales which is a closer relative to the fandango bolero in that it retains its 3/4 time signature and clear rhythm.


Concierto de Aranjuez (Adagio). Composed by Joaquín Rodrígo (1901-1999, Spain) & performed by Paco de Lucía (1947-2014, Spain).

Concierto de Aranjuez (written in 1939) is Rodrigo's most famous work and one of the most important works for classical guitar. The entire concierto is a 3-movement work and this particular movement (Adagio) was inspired by Rodrigo's contrasting feelings between the happiness he felt during his honeymoon and the devastation he felt from the miscarriage of his first child. The Adagio movement is the most dramatic and emotive of the 3. I highly encourage you to listen to all 3 movements when you get a chance. There are tones of interpretations out there but Paco de Lucías is one of my favorites. For a more classical interpretation, check out John Williams' version.


© 2021 Sonanta LLC & Diego Alonso Audette Aste

(+1) 312-217-3937

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page