top of page

Concierto de Aranjuez: Adagio (Classical Guitar)

Updated: Jul 14

Concierto de Aranjuez (Adagio). Composed by Joaquín Rodrígo (1901-1999, Spain) & performed by Paco de Lucía (1947-2014, Spain).

Concierto de Aranjuez (written in 1939) is Rodrigo's most famous work and one of the most important works for classical guitar. The entire concierto is a 3-movement work and this particular movement (Adagio) was inspired by Rodrigo's contrasting feelings between the happiness he felt during his honeymoon and the devastation he felt from the miscarriage of his first child. The Adagio movement is the most dramatic and emotive of the 3. I highly encourage you to listen to all 3 movements when you get a chance. There are tones of interpretations out there but Paco de Lucías is one of my favorites. For a more classical interpretation, check out John Williams' version.


© 2021 Sonanta LLC & Diego Alonso Audette Aste

(+1) 312-217-3937

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page